John Record wins the 2013 Classic and the Founders Trophy.

It was a nice sunny day for the 2013 LCA Classic show at its new venue of the village hall, Roade, Northants.  The hall lived up to expectations with ample natural light to show the Lizards off to their best advantage.  The hall also had very good amenities and was only a mile from the M1, so was easy to get to for all entrants.

The show was once again sponsored by Johnstone and Jeff, LBS Gold Chips Bedding, EMP Donald Cooke, Rob Harvey, Johnson’s, Birdcare, and Ryders Rosettes.  The catering and raffle was once again organised efficiently by Joe Coakley.  Show Secretary was John Record and the Show Manager was John Martin.  Apart from the normal rosettes on offer for the winners there was also rosettes from Australia, New Zealand, the Lizard Dag show in Keijenborg, IOA GB COM along with special Alec Forrest memorial rosettes from the Scottish Lizard Canary Association.  There was also plaques from Australia, New Zealand and C&A Birds.

It was also nice to see Dick Cocksedge at the show and he confirmed that he will be returning to keeping Lizards.  It was also refreshing to see two new novices – Wayne Elton and Les Evans showing at the Classic for the first time.  There was also a number faces some old and some new who made the effort to visit the new venue and in some cases show.

With an entry of over 165, up on last year, the judge for the day, Dave Ross of Tyne and Wear had a nice time working through some large classes assisted by the stewards for the day, Gary McCarthy, Andy Williamson and Geoff Louth. Dave selected as best Lizard, John Record’s clear cap gold hen.Second was Novice Steve Martin’s broken cap gold cock, third was Darren Westley’s broken cap silver cock, fourth was Stan Bolton’s non cap gold cock and finally fifth place was taken by Novice Steve Martin’s clear cap gold cock.

The special winners were:-

Best Lizard – John Record
2nd Best – Steve Martin
3rd Best – Darren Westley
4th Best – Stan Bolton
5th Best – Steve Martin


Best Champion – John Record
Best Clear Cap – John Record
Best Broken Cap – Darren Westley
Best Non Cap – Stan Bolton
Best O/Y – Stan Bolton
Best Stam – Stan Bolton


Best Novice – Steve Martin
Best Clear Cap – Steve Martin
Best Broken Cap – Steve Martin
Best Non Cap – Steve Martin
Best O/Y – Steve Martin
Best Stam – Steve Martin